New Update!

Hello everyone. All of my Reviews, that I have yet to write, will be posted sporadically during the summer. After the end of this summer, I will not be posting on here anymore, as you will see the info on the right side of the blog.
Thanks for your understanding.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Defy The Stars By: Stephanie Parent *Review & Giveaways*

*Click The Tour Banner To Follow The Tour*

Hello everyone! I'm so glad to be a part Stephanie Parent's Blog Tour, for her Lovely Novel: Defy The Stars! Thanks to YA Bound for letting me participate and below you will see my Review and not 1 but 2 really cool International Giveaways, so be sure to check those out, and thanks so much for stopping by here! :)



Book Description


Defy the Stars
Release Date: 07/30/12
e-book
325 pages


Julia Cape: A dedicated classical piano student just trying to get through her last semester of high school while waiting to hear from music conservatories. 

Reed MacAllister: A slacker more likely to be found by the stoners’ tree than in class.

Julia and Reed might have graduated high school without ever speaking to each other…until, during a class discussion of Romeo and Juliet, Julia scoffs at the play’s theme of love at first sight, and Reed responds by arguing that feelings don’t always have to make sense. Julia tries to shake off Reed’s comment and forget about this boy who hangs with the stoner crowd—and who happens to have breathtaking blue eyes—but fate seems to bring the two together again and again. After they share an impulsive, passionate kiss, neither one can deny the chemistry between them. Yet as Julia gets closer to Reed, she also finds herself drawn into his dark world of drugs and violence. Then a horrific tragedy forces Julia’s and Reed’s families even farther apart…and Julia must decide whether she’s willing to give up everything for love.

Defy the Stars is written in an edgy free-verse style that will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins and Lisa Schroeder; however, the writing is accessible enough to speak to non-verse fans as well. The novel’s combination of steamy romance and raw emotion will appeal to fans of Gayle Forman, Simone Elkeles, Jennifer Echols, and Tammara Webber. With a story, language and form that both pay homage to and subvert Shakespeare’s play, Defy the Stars is much more than just another Romeo and Juliet story.





Review
(Thanks to the Author for providing a Review Copy)

Wow, this was one stunning and beautifully written novel! I really liked this modern twist of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. Reading this story from Julia's POV; well it just seemed fitting, learning about her privileged life, and not knowing something was missing in her life until her lips met Reed's. Oh and Reed may not be looked at as popular, rather a stoner, but he has heart, and there's a definite connection between these two, and I would have actually liked to have read more, to even more grasp the understanding of their feelings towards each other.

 Another element I truly enjoyed was Julia's love and talent to play the piano. I'm not at all familiar with playing this instrument but it just seemed really nice while reading Julia's love but also frustration, and you just gotta read this to understand what I mean by frustration, because those parts were written incredibly well. 

I also liked the writing style, reading it like a poem, it just fit with the story... it was lovely. I thought there were great scenes written, including real realistic ones, including some first time experiences with Julia, and I'm not talking about a love scene (oops :) no not that) but something that will eventually haunt Reed: drug use. Yes, that's something that makes Reed, well dangerous, at least in Julia's parents eyes, but there's a very realistic scene that Julia deals with and I thought it was written really in a way that was believable. 

This was a wonderful story that has some heartbreaking moments, and you'll definitely feel them... I know I did. There is an ending that really brings possibilities and I actually wanted to know a little more about what happens with...certain characters, but wow this is just a great debut novel with poetic and strong writing from a promising Author! :)

My Rating: 4/5
I say a Strong PG-13 Rating (Some Language, Drug Use & A Mild Sexual Situation)


About The Author
Stephanie Parent is a YA author repped by Brenda Bowen of Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. She is a graduate of the Master of Professional Writing program at USC and attended the Baltimore School for the Arts as a piano major.


http://www.stephanieparent.blogspot.com/


a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love to read what you have to write and I like to write back, so feel free to comment :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...